Location Managers Guild International

Spring 2019

The Location Managers Guild International (LMGI) is the largest organization of Location Managers and Location Scouts in the motion picture, television, commercial and print production industries. Their membership plays a vital role in the creativ

Issue link: http://digital.copcomm.com/i/1112626

Contents of this Issue


Page 30 of 55

LMGI COMPASS | Spring 2019 • 31 Photo by Clifford Pickett City mayor William Paulding in 1838. In 1864, Davis doubled the size of the estate for the second owner, merchant George Merritt, who gave it the name Lyndenhurst, after the linden trees that filled the grounds. The unusual Gothic structure's sharply arched windows, turrets and vaulted ceilings resemble a castle more than a mansion. After Merritt's death, Jay Gould, a controversial and notorious robber baron, railroad magnate and stock manipulator—one of the most reviled figures of the Gilded Age—bought the mansion. Gould shortened the name to Lyndhurst and expanded the estate. He was responsible for most of the landscape design and building the conservatory. Gould passed in 1892 but Lyndhurst remained in his family till 1961 when it was deeded to the National Trust for Historic Preservation where it has remained ever since, operating as a museum. Most of the furnishings that decorate the house are original— more than 10,000 pieces, including artwork as well as the origi- nal cast-iron stove in the kitchen. The two-story Picture Gallery on the second floor, flooded with winter light through Tiffany windows, is where Colin Farrell first sets eyes upon Jessica Brown Findlay as she plays Brahms on the Grand Steinway. The romantic moodiness of the Gothic room becomes a supporting character in Winter's Tale, conveying both the extravagant rich- ness of the Gilded Age and the high-end romanticism that Gothic architecture lends itself to. Location manager Kip Myers had a unique take on filming Winter's Tale at Lyndhurst Castle. "The experience was wonderful. They welcomed our crew with open arms. Lyndhurst's history and unique look brought authenticity to the movie. It allowed the actors to inhabit their characters and to live in the age. They allowed us to use their auxiliary space for holding/catering/ truck parking. We filmed there for a solid week—in/out based on weather and schedules." The location fee for filming was instrumental in helping Lyndhurst restore the two-lane bowling pavilion/recreation center that Helen Gould added in 1894. This space also housed a sewing school started in 1895 that helped women of service (domestic help) learn the trade of sewing, advancing careers. All roads here are interconnected, illustrating how the stories of these historic properties keep rewriting themselves, creating an ever richer canvas.

Articles in this issue

Archives of this issue

view archives of Location Managers Guild International - Spring 2019