Arizona Education Association

Winter 2017

Issue link:

Contents of this Issue


Page 23 of 39

24 ADVOCATE | WINTER 2017 A EA congratulates Josh Meibos, physical education teacher at David Crockett Elementary School, on being named the 2018 Arizona Teacher of the Year. Meibos was recognized at the annual Arizona Educational Foundation (AEF) Teacher of the Year Awards Luncheon held at The Arizona Grand Resort before more than 500 attendees, including Arizona educators, elected officials, and business leaders. The annual Teacher of the Year program is the premier event of the Arizona Educational Foundation (AEF), a statewide nonprofit organization that promotes and awards the exceptional efforts being made in Arizona public schools. As AEF™ Arizona Teacher of the Year, Meibos will compete for the title of National Teacher of the Year, the opportunity meet President Donald Trump and Vice President Mike Pence, and attend international space camp in Huntsville, Ala. She will also receive a host of awards and recognition including a $15,000 cash award, professional speech training, and a full scholarship toward an advanced degree at Argosy University. "This is a good opportunity for me to advocate not only for my content area of physical education," says Meibos, "But also for men in elementary teaching roles, and the overall current climate of teaching in Arizona." "It is an honor to celebrate great teachers in our state with my colleagues and the community. Josh and the Ambassadors are incredible examples of the tireless work done by teachers day in and day out in classrooms across Arizona," said Executive Director of AEF, Bobbie O'Boyle. "Thanks to our generous sponsors and donors, the Arizona Educational Foundation continues to be able to provide this distinguished award for the 35th consecutive year." Additionally, AEF named its four Teacher of the Year finalists, called "Ambassadors for Excellence," who will serve with Meibos as spokespersons for their profession, advocating for excellence in the classroom by making presentations statewide to education, civic, government and professional organizations. Balsz Education Association Vice President Named as 2018 Arizona Teacher of the Year Amy Ball, Kindergarten Teacher at Madison Traditional Academy of Madison Elementary School District in Phoenix and president of the Madison District Classroom Teachers Association Allison Davis, Kindergarten Teacher at Knox Gifted Academy of Chandler Unified School District and member of the Chandler Education Association Justean Palmer, Fifth Grade Math Teacher at Canyon Ridge School of Dysart Unified School District in Surprise and member of the Dysart Education Association Erica Davis, Twelfth Grade English Teacher at Basha High School of Chandler Unified School District. In addition, Sierra Vista Classroom Teachers Association member and 5th grade Huachuca Mountain Elementary School teacher Brenda Kilmurray and Osborn Education Association member and 6th grade Spanish Immersion Clarendon Elementary School teacher Ruth Ruiz were also honored among the top ten teachers at the luncheon. Josh Meibos Vice President Balsz EA The four 2018 Ambassadors for Excellence are: Amy Ball President Madison District Classroom Teachers Association Allison Davis Member Chandler Education Association Justean Palmer Member Dysart Education Association Erica Davis Chandler Unified School District

Articles in this issue

Archives of this issue

view archives of Arizona Education Association - Winter 2017