Arizona Education Association

Advocate Fall 2012

Issue link:

Contents of this Issue


Page 30 of 39

AEA Salute to Excellence Award Winners The AEA and AEA Foundation for Teaching and Learning presented the following awards on April 28, 2012. In addition, the Arizona Teacher of the Year, Kristie Martorelli, and Arizona's 2012 National Board Certified teachers were recognized at the Salute to Excellence luncheon. 2012 AEA Christa McAuliffe "I Touch the Future, I Teach" Award Misha Quarles, NBCT Dysart Education Association Misha Quarles is a K-8 Math Interventionist, Math Leadership Team facilitator, and National Junior Honor Society sponsor, and supervises the DRAFT after-school program at Thompson Ranch Elementary School. On a daily basis, you will find Misha going above and beyond to ensure that she impacts her community, students, and colleagues. She is a learner, leader, National Board Certified Teacher, and Master Teacher. Misha is more than an academic leader; she is also a leader of ethics, professionalism, and care. There is a sincerity and genuineness about her that inspires you to be a better person, a reflective teacher, and even more passionate about learning. Misha touches the future because she teaches. 2012 ESPecially for Kids Award Amanda Harbison Flowing Wells Education Association See story on page 30 2012 Les Reynolds Distinguished Senior Service Award Connie Wittig AEA Retired Connie Wittig has held numerous Association positions at local, state and national levels, which include Paradise Valley Support Employee Association President, Treasurer, and Secretary; AEA-Retired Representative At-Large, Secretary and Treasurer; NEA Resolutions Committee member; and service on the AEA Board of Directors. 2012 AEA LIFT Grant Giovonna Boyd Chinle Education Association This year's AEA LIFT Grant has been awarded to the Canyon de Chelly Silently Implores Exploration project. It is designed to inspire third-grade students to discover the difference between reading a textbook and actively investigating Canyon de Chelly. 2012 Nell Wilcoxen AEA Future Educator Scholarship Kelly M. Lynch, Arizona State University Kelly is the daughter of Gilbert Education Association member Mary Lynch and comes from a long lineage of teachers. She believes that student, parents, and teachers are a team with the student's success as the primary goal. Connie Wittig (center) shown with Andrew Morrill and Carolyn Warner. AEA Advocate ❘ Fall 2012 31

Articles in this issue

Archives of this issue

view archives of Arizona Education Association - Advocate Fall 2012