Arizona Education Association

Winter 2016

Issue link:

Contents of this Issue


Page 21 of 39

22 ADVOCATE | WINTER 2016 Arizona Educational Foundation Names Top Ten Arizona Teachers T he Arizona Education Association congratulates Kyrene Education Association member Maria Plata, Osborn Education Association member Michelle Doherty, Chandler Education Association member Lori Lyford, Cottonwood Elementary teacher Christine DeBono, and Bogle Jr. High School teacher Jena Phillips on being named the five finalists for the Arizona Educational Foundation's (AEF) Arizona Teacher of the Year and the 2017 AEF Ambassadors of Excellence. AEF's annual Teacher of the Year program is the only statewide program to spotlight and honor Arizona's public school teachers. The AEA Foundation for Teaching & Learning is a major sponsor of the program. Congratulations to the five semifinalists, including Cartwright Education Association member Donnie Dicus and Mesa Education Association member Elaine Veatch on being named as Semifinalists. Thank you for your dedication to public education. All ten teachers were honored during the awards luncheon on November 17, 2016 at the Arizona Biltmore, where the 2017 Arizona Teacher of the Year was announced prior to the publication of this issue of the AEA Advocate. The AEF™ Arizona Teacher of the Year program spotlights the contributions of outstanding public school teachers throughout Arizona by annually recognizing 10 exceptionally skilled and dedicated pre-kindergarten through 12th grade public school teachers. Learn more about the AEF Arizona Teacher of the Year Program at teacher-of-the-year. Maria Plata, First Grade Spanish Immersion Teacher at Kyrene del Norte School in Kyrene School District, Tempe. Lori Lyford, High School Music and Choral Teacher at Chandler High School of Chandler Unified School District. Michelle Doherty, First Grade Teacher at Encanto School of Osborn Elementary School District, Phoenix. Donnie Dicus, Third Grade Teacher at Manuel Peña Elementary School of Cartwright Elementary School District, Phoenix. Elaine Veatch, Fifth Grade Teacher at Longfellow Elementary School of Mesa Unified School District. Flagstaff Member Named Teacher of the Year by the Arizona Technology Council Congratulations to Flagstaff Education Association member Christine Sapio on being named Teacher of the Year by the Arizona Technology Council. The Arizona Technology Council and the Arizona Commerce Authority announced Individual Award winners, Company Award finalists and Student and Teacher Awards for the 2016 Governor's Celebration of Innovation Awards (GCOI) presented by Avnet this past September. Christine Sapio is a Physics teacher at Coconino High School and past Arizona High School Science Teacher of the Year and 2014 Arizona Teacher of the Year finalist. The awards honor the visionaries of Arizona's technology ecosystem whose passion and dedication energize Arizona's rapidly growing technology community. The Teacher of the Year award winner and honorable mentions were evaluated and chosen by a selection committee independent of the Council including members of the Arizona Council of Engineering and Scientific Associations (ACESA). ACESA supports, promotes and coordinates programs and activities of the engineering and science associations within the state of Arizona through facilitated communication and leadership. Photo courtesy of Flagstaff Unified School District

Articles in this issue

Links on this page

Archives of this issue

view archives of Arizona Education Association - Winter 2016