Arizona Education Association

Summer 2016

Issue link:

Contents of this Issue


Page 16 of 39

SUMMER 2016 | ADVOCATE 17 Around AEA Kyrene Education Association Member Wins AEA Christa McAuliffe "I Touch the Future, I Teach" Award Christa McAuliffe was a "practical visionary" who reached for the stars. Since her tragic death in the Challenger crash in 1986, the phrase she coined to describe her profession – "I touch the future, I teach" – lives on in our hearts, inspiring us to give our best. The award AEA named after Christa McAuliffe goes each year to a teacher like Christa, who inspired those around her, had a sense of humor and optimism, and nurtured curiosity and hope in children. Maria Plata, Kyrene Education Association Flowing Wells Education Association Member Awarded AEA ESPecially for Kids Award AEA honors an exceptional education support professional with the "ESPecially for Kids" Award, which recognizes a classified employee for "extraordinary efforts on behalf of young people." Mary Alice Fernandez, Flowing Wells Education Association Partners in Education This award demonstrates the AEA's strong belief in the importance of community support to the success of our public schools. The award honors corporations, local businesses, individuals, or community groups that exhibit exemplary support for local public schools. Santa Cruz Advocates, nominated by Professional Educators of Nogales President Larry Frederick Pure Heart Christian Fellowship, nominated by Washington District Education Association President Laurie Richards Public Relations Partnership Award This award honors an exceptional school public relations person or group who has demonstrated a strong relationship between the district, the local association, and the community and whose efforts have improved the public's understanding about public schools. Washington Elementary School District Communications Department LIFT Grant Learning Improvement Through Faculty Teams (LIFT) grants support AEA members' collaborative projects to increase student achievement. Tucson Education Association member Ava Bemer and Elizabeth Breck, Booth-Fickett Math Science Magnet School Promise Grant These "mini-grants" provide support for projects that help fulfill one of AEA's strategic objectives – quality public education for every Arizona public school student and a viable organization through increased membership, strong and effective leaders and locals, and engagement of members. Chandler Education Association member Carolyn McCleary, Auxier Elementary School AEA Retired Les Reynolds Distinguished Senior Service Award This award acknowledges and honors a member who provides outstanding service to AEA Retired and the communities he or she serves. AEA Retired member Linda Somo Nell Wilcoxen/AEA Future Educator Scholarship Thanks to a scholarship fund created by th estate of former AEA editor Nell Wilcoxen, the AEA Foundation for Teaching & Learning helps fund the college career of AEA members and their immediate family. The scholarship aids students who show academic promise and have financial need. Hunter Hazelton, Betty H. Fairfax High School student and son of Phoenix Union Classified Education Association member Chris Hazelton Elna Moriah Perkins, Grand Canyon High School student and daughter of Grand Canyon Education Association member Elna Georgiana Perkins

Articles in this issue

Archives of this issue

view archives of Arizona Education Association - Summer 2016