Spring 2016

Issue link:

Contents of this Issue


Page 49 of 64

48 SAG-AFTRA | Spring 2016 | On Location CELEBRATING LOCAL PRODUCTION T he Made in Hollywood Honors kicked off its fifth annual ceremony on Feb. 4 at the Heart of Hollywood Terrace at 1600 Vine, supported by SAG-AFTRA, the Producers Guild of America, the California Film Commission, FilmL.A., Teamsters Local 399 and the Film Musicians Secondary Markets Fund. Hosted by Los Angeles Councilman Mitch O'Farrell and emceed by Los Angeles Local First Vice President Esai Morales, the Made in Hollywood Honors program saluted films nominated for Academy Awards in the categories of Best Picture and Best Animated Feature, which were produced and filmed in California. Two other Made in Hollywood Honors categories of recognition were added to the program: the Lifetime Contribution to Hollywood Award and Diversity Leadership Award. As one of the most honored artists in Oscar history, legendary composer and conductor John Williams became the first recipient of the Lifetime Contribution to Hollywood Award, while Straight Outta Compton producer Scott Bernstein accepted the first Diversity Leadership Award on behalf of the film's creative team. RILEY JAMISON/1600 VINE Councilman Mitch O'Farrell, left, and SAG-AFTRA L.A. Local First Vice President Esai Morales listen in as legendary composer John Williams accepts his honor. Los Angeles DEDICATED MEMBERS RECEIVE TOP HONORS L ongtime members Anne-Marie Johnson and Morgan Fairchild were recognized for their contributions to the union at the Los Angeles Local annual membership meeting on March 6. Held at the Sportsmen's Lodge in Studio City, both honorees received the Ralph Morgan Award — the highest recognition given by the L.A. Local to honor individuals for exceptional service to the membership. Honors and Tributes Committee Chair Jenny O'Hara and Vice Chair Mimi Cozzens opened the Ralph Morgan Award ceremony with remarks on the honorees' accomplishments. Former SAG President Alan Rosenberg introduced Johnson and spoke about her dedication and impact on the union's membership, followed by former SAG 1st Vice President Mike Farrell's remarks about Fairchild's dedication to fighting for performers' rights. Anne-Marie Johnson accepts her Ralph Morgan Award. ANGELA WEISS X2 Morgan Fairchild proudly shows her Ralph Morgan Award. WORKING BEHIND THE SCENES In January, Chief Deputy General Counsel Jeffrey Bennett added the position New York Local executive director to his responsibilities. In March, he met with Julie Menin, newly appointed film commissioner for the Mayor's Office of Media & Entertainment. The two discussed strategies for maintaining and expanding New York's vibrant entertainment production scene for the benefit of SAG-AFTRA members, sister unions and local businesses. The two plan to work together to help the Office of Media & Entertainment celebrate its 50th anniversary this year. New York

Articles in this issue

Links on this page

Archives of this issue

view archives of SAG-AFTRA - Spring 2016