Local 706 - The Artisan

Fall 2015

Issue link: https://digital.copcomm.com/i/611826

Contents of this Issue


Page 9 of 55

10 NEWS NEWS GUILD GUILD NEWS Make-Up Artists & Hair Stylists Guild Awards VE NEILL Lifetime Achievement Award: Make-Up Ve Neill is the first female make-up artist to win an Oscar and is also the first female make-up artist to receive the Lifetime Achievement Award by the Make-Up Artists & Hair Stylists Guild. She has won a total of three Oscars for Mrs. Doubtfire (1993), Ed Wood (1994) and Beetlejuice (1988). She has four Academy Award ® nominations, a Primetime and a Daytime Emmy win, 31 additional nominations including BAFTA, MUAHS Guild Awards and Saturn, and more than 100 film and television credits to her name. Best known for The Hunger Games (2012–2015), The Amazing Spider-Man 2 (2014) and Pirates of the Caribbean (2003, 2006 & 2007), Neill has produced some of the most creative make-up looks in cinematic history. She's recognized as a unique talent in the craft of film make- up, special make-up effects and in designing unique character and beauty make-up looks. She seamlessly transforms actors into iconic film characters with incredible realism including the late Robin Williams into Mrs. Doubtfire, Martin Landau into Bela Lugosi in Ed Wood, and Michael Keaton in Beetlejuice. She received a Daytime Emmy for her work on 1997's The Shining. 2016 LIFETIME ACHIEVEMENT AWARD RECIPIENTS Make-up artist Ve Neill and hair stylist Yolanda Toussieng, both Oscar ® and Emmy ® winners, will receive the Lifetime Achievement Awards at the annual Make-Up Artists & Hair Stylists Guild Awards honoring their outstanding achievements in motion pictures, televi- sion, commercials and live theater. The black tie event will be held Saturday, February 20, at Paramount Studios Theatre in Hollywood. "The bodies of work of Ve Neill and Yolanda Toussieng are legendary, and we are proud to rank them among the best in the history of our profession. They are extraordinary artists and accomplished leaders in the industry, and it is our pleasure to name them as this year's Lifetime Achievement Award recipients," said President Susan Cabral-Ebert. Previous recipients of the Lifetime Achievement Award for make-up artists are Rick Baker, Montague "Monty" Westmore, Bob Schiffer, John Chambers, Jack Pierce, Daniel Striepeke and Dick Smith. Previous recipients of the Lifetime Achievement Award for hair stylists are Kathryn Blondell, Sydney Guilaroff, Vivienne Walker, Paul LeBlanc, Colleen Callaghan and Gail Ryan. YOLANDA TOUSSIENG Lifetime Achievement Award: Hair Styling Hair stylist Yolanda Toussieng is the first hair stylist to win an Oscar, and she has won two for Mrs. Doubtfire (1993) and Ed Wood (1994). She is best known for her work on Edward Scissorhands (1990), Oz the Great and Powerful (2013), Hairspray (2007), Master and Commander: The Far Side of the World (2003) and Batman Returns (1992). Toussieng won a Daytime Emmy in 1989 for Pee-wee's Playhouse, 10 other award nominations and has over 60 film and television hair styling credits spanning three decades of work. Her creativity, expertise and remarkable craftsmanship have been greatly admired for both period and contemporary films. Yolanda is recognized as one of the most sought-after hair stylists in the entertainment industry. Her credits range from Insurgent (2015), Transformers: Revenge of the Fallen (2009), The Taking of Pelham 1 2 3 (2009), Poseidon (2006), Batman & Robin (1997), The Way Back (2010), plus dozens more. Ironically, Neill and Toussieng won Oscars on films they did together as a team: Ed Wood and Mrs. Doubtfire. They both won Daytime Emmys together for their work with Paul Reubens on Pee-wee's Playhouse.

Articles in this issue

Archives of this issue

view archives of Local 706 - The Artisan - Fall 2015