Arizona Education Association

Advocate Summer 2012

Issue link:

Contents of this Issue


Page 8 of 39

120 years of advocating for quality public education. The AEA Advocate will be doing a series of articles in upcoming issues commemorating the Association's 120th anniversary. Timeline of 120 Years of AEA History This year the Arizona Education Association is celebrating December 22, 1892 Arizona Territorial Teachers' Association is founded. First president was Professor E.L. Storment, dues were $1, and there were 61 members. 1907 Membership had risen to 400 and dues were $1.25. 1910 Printing of the first Association newspaper, the Arizona Teacher. 1912 Association successfully lobbied for state's first teacher pension at $50 per month for retired teachers. 1920 Members voted to affiliate with the National Education Association. 1922 First state association woman president, Helen Brown, a school superintendent of Cochise County schools, was elected. 1925 First state Delegate Assembly held between Christmas and New Year's Day. Association changed its name from the Arizona State Teachers Association to the Arizona State Education Association. Association had 1,500 members. 1929 Association changed its name to its present designation, the Arizona Education Association. 1933 First teacher elected to serve as Association president, Anne Rogers, a social studies teacher from Tucson High School. 1938 First paid AEA staff position established – the executive secretary. AEA Advocate ❘ Summer 2012 9 Evolution of AEA logos The

Articles in this issue

Archives of this issue

view archives of Arizona Education Association - Advocate Summer 2012