Make-Up Artists & Hair Stylists Guild Awards

11th Annual MUAHS Awards 2024

Issue link:

Contents of this Issue


Page 3 of 75

GREETINGS AND BEST WISHES TO EVERYONE We are proud to present to you our 11th Make-Up Artists & Hair Stylists Guild Awards. It is so exciting to be together once again on this special occasion. We are fortunate to stream tonight's awards which allows us to include all our family and friends from around the world who want to share in the festivities. We have with us some of the top talent in the entertainment industry who we are celebrating tonight. e nominees this evening are accomplished in all facets of the industry and this talented group has worked in creating characters for a myriad of productions, including feature films, television, commercials, videos, internet, streaming content, and theatrical productions. From subtle beauty and aging to aliens and icons, the vast array of make-up and hair artistry is represented tonight. We were elated that Val Chmerkovskiy brought his charm and charisma as host of the pre-show Red Carpet Livestream at our MUAHS Guild Awards this year. We are in for a real treat, so prepare to laugh and enjoy the program as the multi-talented Melissa Peterman is back hosting our awards ceremony again this year. is evening, we will honor the marvelous Oscar-nominated actress Annette Bening with the prestigious Distinguished Artisan Award. Bening brings fascinating characters to life on the screen and has stretched the span of iconic looks from the glamour of the 1940s to the natural beauty of present day. Her enthralling performances in films such as American Beauty and Bugsy to her most recent role in Nyad, which garnered her another Academy Award nomination, has solidified her place as one of the most respected and talented actresses in the industry. e Lifetime Achievement Awards honor artists with an extraordinary spectrum of acclaimed work, exceptional contributions to the entertainment industry, and outstanding service to their union or cra. is year's recipients, Kevin Haney and Ora T. Green, are both magnificent talents who have blazed trails and wowed audiences with their amazing work across the entertainment industry. Kevin Haney is an Oscar- and Emmy-winning make-up artist best known for his work on Driving Miss Daisy, Guardians of the Galaxy Vol. 3, and Hocus Pocus 2, to name a few. Ora T. Green, Emmy-nominated hair stylist, is known for her work on Star Trek: Nemesis, Blade, and Good Times. We are honored to recognize them for their unprecedented contributions to the artistry of make-up and hair styling. e Vanguard Award is presented to an individual who has made significant contributions to the make-up and hair styling industry and has le a lasting impact on the cra. is year, that honor will go to the legendary Michael Westmore. e body of work Westmore has done personally, along with the tremendous amount of guidance and mentorship he has given to make-up artists and the world of television and film is unprecedented and the love and respect for the man who gave many their start and work throughout the years is unparalleled. Receiving 45 Emmy nominations with nine wins and four Oscar nominations with a win for the film Mask, his work includes iconic films such as Rocky, Rambo, and Raging Bull to creating many various alien looks for the acclaimed Star Trek series that followed the original. We are excited to welcome back our own Local 706 journeyman make-up artist and this year's NAACP Image Award nominee for Outstanding Jazz Album, Angie Wells, for the memorial tribute performance that honors the Local 706 artisans and Guild friends and family we have lost this past year. e success of the MUAHS Guild Awards show is due to the many who have helped behind the scenes and gave many hours of their time and talent. Words cannot convey how grateful and appreciative we are of the following people: to all the member volunteers and committees that spent hours working on all facets of the MUAHS Guild Awards, from vetting submissions to coordinating volunteers and everything in between. Heartfelt thanks to Michael Johnston, Chair of Rules & Regulations/ Voting Committee, and Kimberly Carlson, Social Media Chair, who spent countless time, along with their committees and went above and beyond to make sure all went smoothly. Gail Ryan, Chair of the Lifetime Achievement Awards, whose committee ran flawlessly. Lois Burwell and Barbara Lorenz for assistance with the Lifetime Achievement Award nominee videos. Also, Vice President Elena Arroy for all her unwavering support and hard work in coordination of the volunteers for Meet the Nominees and the MUAHS Guild Awards. Our sincere thanks to IngleDodd Media and its staff for its dedication to the MUAHS Guild Awards, notably Dan Evans, who worked tirelessly with us, and Senka Lorja who helped with everything associated with submissions and voting. Cheri Warner and Weissman/Markovitz Communications, as well as Erick Weiss and Honeysweet Creative, who are responsible for creating this spectacular event. Sue Cabral-Ebert, who also generously gave her time to work with both IngleDodd Media and Local 706. Additionally, our 706 office staff for its support throughout. To all who have not been named here but gave of their time to help us, you deserve all the credit, and a personal thank you to those who have supported and sponsored this year's awards. Congratulations to all and have a magnificent evening. Julie Socash President IATSE Local 706 F R O M T H E P R E S I D E N T O F L O C A L 7 0 6 , J U L I E S O C A S H MAKE-UP ARTISTS & HAIR STYLISTS GUILD AWARDS | 2

Articles in this issue

Archives of this issue

view archives of Make-Up Artists & Hair Stylists Guild Awards - 11th Annual MUAHS Awards 2024