MPSE Wavelength

Spring 2023

Issue link:

Contents of this Issue


Page 3 of 59

2 I m ps e . o rg LETTER FROM THE PRESIDENT MARK LANZA MPSE I PRESIDENT Sound Designer and Supervisor Sony Pictures Studios The Official Publication of the Motion Picture Sound Editors Editor CHRISTINA HORGAN MPSE Officers MARK LANZA - President STEVE URBAN - Vice President DAVID BARBER - Secretary JEREMY GORDON - Treasurer CHRIS REEVES - Sergeant at Arms Board Members PETER ALBRECHTSEN MIGUEL ARAUJO DANIEL BLANCK DAVID BONDELEVITCH BILL DANNEVIK BAYLON FONSECA AMBER FUNK SCOTT GERSHIN GERALDO GUTIERREZ CHRISTINA HORGAN KEVIN HOWARD SCOTT JENNINGS PERRY LA MARCA PAULETTE VICTOR LIFTON ERIC MARKS CHARLES MAYNES GARRETT MONTGOMERY STUART MORTON KOREY PEREIRA SOLANGE SCHWALBE HARRY SNODGRASS The MPSE Wavelength is published quarterly by the Motion Picture Sound Editors MPSE.ORG Comments, editorial and photo submissions can be sent to Publisher INGLEDODD MEDIA Advertising INGLEDODD MEDIA 310.207.4410 MPSE@INGLEDODD.COM WWW.INGLEDODDMEDIA.COM Dear MPSE Members: Welcome to Wavelength's spring edition! We hope you made it through the holiday season unscathed. We are getting close to our big 70th awards show. It will be in-person on February 26th, 2023, in the famous Wilshire Ebell Theatre of Los Angeles. It will be a tribute to old Hollywood. We can't wait to present our Filmmaker of the Year Award to Jerry Bruckheimer, Tom Cruise will present the award in-person to Jerry. Our Career Achievement Award to Gwendolyn Yates Whittle, and hosting our awards this year will be Patton Oswalt! A good time will be had by all please don't miss out. Thank you to all our volunteers and sponsors, we couldn't do this without you. We are finishing up voting for all our submissions. A BIG thank you to all the judges. You are what keeps the MPSE Golden Reel Award the premier sound editing award around the world. All voting members, please think about volunteering to judge a category next year. At this year's awards show, the new officers and board of directors' representatives will officially take their offices. We would like to congratulate our new Vice President David Barber, new Treasurer Chris Reeves, and new Sergeant at Arms Solange Schwalbe. Sincere thanks to our outgoing Vice President Steve Urban, outgoing Treasurer Jeremy Gordon, and outgoing Sergeant at Arms Chris Reeves, we don't know how we would have done this without you. New and re-elected board of directors are Peter Albrechtsen, Miguel Araujo, Mark Camperell, William Dannevik, Brent Findley, Amber Funk, Scott Jennings, Robert Kellough, Perry LaMarca, Charles Maynes, Garrett Montgomery, and Paulette Victor-Lifton. We look forward to your input, having you represent your fellow editors, and continuing to move the MPSE and its mission forward. Check the MPSE web page ( regularly for Sound Advice and other event information, and to purchase MPSE merchandise. We LOVE to see MPSE swag at studios and at in-person events! Please, enjoy this issue of Wavelength! Sincerely,

Articles in this issue

Links on this page

Archives of this issue

view archives of MPSE Wavelength - Spring 2023