Spring 2021

Issue link:

Contents of this Issue


Page 35 of 89

Broadcast News Late Broadcaster Named SAG-AFTRA President's Award Honoree O n April 1, just five days before his death, SAG-AFTRA announced that longtime union leader and award-winning broadcast journalist Joe Krebs would receive the President's Award. The SAG-AFTRA award celebrates someone who has given meritorious service, dedication and commitment to the membership of the union and the American labor movement. Krebs is the fourth recipient of the honor. "Joe Krebs' impressive career of more than 40 years in the broadcast industry would stand on its own, but it's his generous soul and a relentless passion for justice that have truly distinguished him," said SAG-AFTRA President Gabrielle Carteris. "His professional accomplishments tell only part of the story; he has selflessly volunteered countless hours in union leadership and on committees for the betterment of his fellow members. He has mentored many and has always stood for the members and their needs." Krebs passed away April 6, after a battle with pancreatic cancer, at the age of 78. He had an extensive broadcast career, starting in 1970 with WFMY-TV in Greensboro, North Carolina, after graduating law school. The last three decades of his career were spent at NBC-owned WRC-TV in Washington, D.C., where he became a local institution and served as the union shop steward. His work earned him numerous Emmys. He retired in 2012 but continued to serve the union, including chairing the National Broadcast Steering Committee. "Under Joe's steady leadership, the Broadcast Steering Committee provided information, training and networking opportunities for the union's broadcast members," said SAG-AFTRA Vice President, Broadcasters, Bob Butler. "The BSC and SAG-AFTRA are better because Joe was a member and a leader. We will go on, but it will not be the same. Fair winds and following seas, Joe!" Krebs served on numerous other national committees, including the Executive, Communications, Government Affairs and Public Policy, Honors & Tributes, Reinstatement Obligations Review, and Finance committees, as well as the Committee of Locals. Before the merger of SAG and AFTRA, he served as president of the American Federation of Television and Radio Artists' Washington-Baltimore Local from 1997–2009. He was instrumental in the 2012 merger and co-wrote both the new union's constitution and its dues structure. In 2017, at SAG-AFTRA's third biennial convention, Krebs received the George Heller Memorial Award, which takes the form of a gold membership card that is awarded to those with an exceptional record of serving the union and its members. Joe Krebs SPECIAL THANKS TO NBC WASHINGTON

Articles in this issue

Archives of this issue

view archives of SAG-AFTRA - Spring 2021