Wyoming Education Association

Summer 2019

Issue link: https://digital.copcomm.com/i/1133200

Contents of this Issue


Page 19 of 31

17 ESP Award – The ESP Award recognizes a person whose activities refl ect the contributions of education support professionals to public education. Wanita "Kay" Pingree is the 2019 ESP Award recipient. Kay is an Accounts Payable Specialist at Freemont County School District 21 in Fort Washakie, Wyoming. Green Apple Award – The Green Apple Award recognizes a person who contributes to environmental awareness. Wendy Smith is the 2019 Green Apple Award recipient. Smith is a high school science teacher in Powell. Higher Education Professional Award – Recognizes a WEA Higher Education member who demonstrates leadership in education and promotes programs to enhance relationships between higher education and the community. The awardee is also recognized for having developed and promoted legislation aff ecting higher education. Steve Thulin is the 2019 Higher Education Award Recipient. Thulin is a history professor at Northwest College in Powell. National Foundation for the Improvement of Education Award for Teaching Excellence – Recognizing an educator who exemplifi es excellence in teaching as well as support for the profession through association activism. John Fabela is the 2019 NFIE Award winner. Fabela is a music teacher at Powell High School. Gold Key Award – The Gold Key is the most prestigious award conveyed by the Wyoming Education Association. It is presented for extraordinary service, which has contributed to the professional development of WEA and to the enhancement and advancement of education in the state of Wyoming. Carol Jelaco is the 2019 Gold Key Award winner. Jelaco is a retired mathematics teacher. She currently serves as Chairman of the Sweetwater County School District 1 Board of Trustees. 2019 DELEGATE ASSEMBLY AWARDS Wyoming Education Association was proud to honor exemplary educators and friends of education at the 2019 Delegate Assembly. Congratulations to the award recipients! Thanks for all that you do for Wyoming students! Friend of Education Award – The Friend of Education Award recognizes a person who has demonstrated evidence of exceptional service to teachers, schools, and children. This year, the Friend of Education Award has been awarded to Jamie Purcell and Cassandra Baker of the Wyoming Food for Thought Project and Jay Butler of the Wyoming Farm to Table Program. Wyoming Food for Thought Project is an independently run, local non-profi t 501(c)(3) organization founded on the idea that a local solution to hunger is possible. Learn more about the Wyoming Food for Thought Project at wyomingfoodforthoughtproject.org. r l S R C N o – e p J

Articles in this issue

Links on this page

Archives of this issue

view archives of Wyoming Education Association - Summer 2019