Wyoming Education Association

Winter 2016

Issue link: http://digital.copcomm.com/i/766038

Contents of this Issue


Page 12 of 31

BACK TO SCHOOL 2016 | wyoea.org 13 Wyoming State Board of Education to Celebrate 100 th Year Sunday, January 29 Wyoming Education Association Legislative Reception Sunday, February 12 Wyoming School Boards Association Legislative Forum Little America Hotel at 3:45 p.m. In 2017, the Wyoming State Board of Education (SBE) will celebrate 100 years of service to the education community of Wyoming. The Wyoming Education Association is most appreciative of the dedication and generous donation of time and effort of the SBE members! The board was established on February 21, 1917, to set educational policies for Wyoming's K-12 districts. It is an independent body composed of 13 members appointed by the Governor to represent all citizens, including students, educators, and business and community leaders. The board is primarily responsible for evaluating and approving state standards, school accreditation, accountability and assessment policies. Members also strive to promote a passion for education and a culture of achievement, while creating new opportunities for students to reach their potential. The Wyoming Department of Education works closely with the SBE and implements many of the policies the board is responsible for setting. To learn more about the SBE, visit edu.wyoming.gov/board or contact Chelsie Oaks at Chelsie.Oaks@wyo.gov. Current Wyoming State Board of Education Members: For email addresses and interesting biographical information about each of these civic-minded volunteers, please go to the SBE Website: https://edu.wyoming.gov/board/ about-us/members/ Pete Gosar, Chairman, Representing: Appointment District #2 Kathy Coon, Vice Chair, Representing: Certified Classroom Teachers Ken Rathbun, Treasurer, Representing: Appointment District #6 Jillian Balow, State Superintendent of Public Instruction Sue Belish, Representing: Appointment District #4 Nate Breen, Representing: Local School Boards Hugh Hageman, Representing: Public at Large Scotty Ratliff, Representing: Appointment District #7 Jim Rose, Ex-Officio Member/ Executive Director of the Wyoming Community College Commission Robin Schamber, Representing: Appointment District #3 Kathryn Sessions, Representing: Business & Industry Walt Wilcox, Representing: Certified School Administrators Belenda Willson, Representing: Appointment District #5 to the Chadron State College Department of Music! The Music Department has earned specialized accreditation by the National Association of Schools of Music (NASM). "This was a huge endeavor that required cooperation from many individuals across campus who are too numerous to name, but special thanks go to the library for developing music resources, the music faculty for their help and support, and the administration for their continued commitment to helping our department achieve this goal." Dr. Una Taylor, Chair of the Music Department csc.edu/music Little America Hotel from 6:00-8:00 p.m. Register here to attend the reception https://www.surveymonkey.com/r/7S2ZMRF Please join us in celebrating the Wyoming State Board of Education 100-year anniversary

Articles in this issue

Links on this page

Archives of this issue

view archives of Wyoming Education Association - Winter 2016