Wyoming Education Association

Summer 2016

Issue link: http://digital.copcomm.com/i/697518

Contents of this Issue


Page 7 of 31

SUMMER 2016 | WEAnews 8 2016 Delegate Assembly Kathryn Valido of Cheyenne was awarded the Wyoming Education Association's coveted Gold Key Award for her over-30 years of service to Wyoming education. Kathryn's nomination came from the Cheyenne Teachers Education Association (CTEA), where she was a member for years. "Kathryn has given decades of her life and career to the students of Wyoming," said WEA President Kathy Vetter. "She continues to advocate on behalf of students and public education in Wyoming." Kathryn is currently retired in Cheyenne, but spent her prior years completely absorbed in public education in Wyoming. Kathryn was involved in CTEA's negotiations team, served on the Wyoming Professional Teaching Standards Board (PTSB), served within the Association at every level, and is the immediate past-WEA President. Much of Kathryn's work included advocacy and lobbying for professional development and improvement of the WEA, and she had a tremendous impact on public education in Wyoming. CTEA's nominating letter said, "She was unwavering in her testimony and always had teachers and children in mind. She lobbied both at the state and national levels for children and teachers." Jon VanOverbeke is the recipient of the NEA Foundation for the Improvement of Education's (NFIE) Award for Teaching Excellence sponsored by California Casualty – one of the nation's most prestigious honors for public educators. The Wyoming Education Association selected VanOverbeke for the honor after colleagues wrote nomination letters on his behalf. "His devotion to education and issues around education encouraged me to become an involved member in the Association," said Patti Krakow. Jon has taught third, fourth and fifth grades in Laramie County School District #1 (Cheyenne) for 25 years. He has taught at both Hebard and Henderson Elementary Schools, and currently teaches fourth grade at Henderson Elementary. "His passion for providing the best possible educational experience for his students has been demonstrated by his willingness to be an innovative role model for his peers," past-WEA President Kathryn Valido said. WEA President Kathy Vetter said the WEA is thrilled that California Casualty has joined us again this year to pay tribute to educators who are making a difference in the lives of students in Wyoming and across the country. VanOverbeke is one of many awardees who will be honored at the NEA Foundation's Salute to Excellence at the Education Gala held sometime early next year. Known as the Academy Awards of public education, the gala attracts more than 850 of the nation's leaders from public education, philanthropy, and the private sector. Valido Honored with Gold Key Award Cheyenne educator, past-WEA Treasurer VanOverbeke honored with NFIE Award

Articles in this issue

Archives of this issue

view archives of Wyoming Education Association - Summer 2016