Local 706 - The Artisan

Fall 2018

Issue link: http://digital.copcomm.com/i/1058399

Contents of this Issue


Page 23 of 83

2019 24 • THE ARTISAN FALL 2018 M A K E - U P A R T I S T S & H A I R S T Y L I S T S G U I L D A W A R D S LIFETIME ACHIEVEMENT AWARD RECIPIENTS "I am truly honored to receive this special tribute as I leave the leadership role of the Guild after so many productive and meaningful years. And I'm thrilled to celebrate along- side Robert Louis Stevenson, for his illustrious body of work over the past four decades," said Cabral-Ebert, Local 706 President. Emmy-nominated make-up artist Sue Cabral-Ebert has been the president of the Make-Up Artists & Hair Stylists Guild for the past 15 years after an award-winning career in television and motion pictures. She was one of the first women to join the Guild as a make-up artist. Nominated for four Primetime Emmy Awards in Outstanding Makeup (ER, And the Beat Goes On: The Sonny and Cher Story, MADtv), Sue's proficiency with all types of make-up from runway beauty to prosthetics kept her constantly working—from Dallas to L.A. Law. Sue transitioned into motion pictures as depart- ment head on numerous films such as The Perfect Storm, Erin Brockovich, Pleasantville, Dead Poets Society, among many others. After 25 years on the sets of both television and film, she rose to leadership of Local 706 as Vice President, Assistant Business Representative and President, an office she has held for an unprecedented five terms. During her tenure, Sue has worked tirelessly to elevate the visibility and importance of the talented Local 706 make-up artists and hair stylists. She has been elected chair of numerous IATSE committees, from Legislative to Diversity and was an original Women's Committee member. Sue has become recognized for her work to bring jobs back to California with the California Film and Television Tax Incentive and successfully defeated an assem- bly bill that threatened Local 706 hair stylists. She has been an outspoken advocate for the 10-hour turnaround, recently accomplished in the latest contract negotiations. In addi- tion, Sue is the chairperson for the Make-Up Artists & Hair Stylists Guild Awards, plans the education for all classifica- tions of Local 706 members, and is the editor of The Artisan. Susan Cabral-Ebert, outgoing Local 706 President and Emmy ® - nominated make-up artist, and Robert Louis Stevenson, legend- ary Emmy-winning hair stylist, will receive Lifetime Achievement Awards at the 5th Annual Make-Up Artists & Hair Stylists Guild Awards. Honoring outstanding achievements for make-up artists and hair stylists in motion pictures, television, commercials, and live theater, the awards gala returns to the NOVO by Microsoft in L.A. Live on Saturday, February 16, 2019. SUSAN CABRAL-EBERT Lifetime Achievement Award: Make-Up Left: Cast members from The Perfect Storm; Below: Susan Cabral-Ebert; Rene Russo in Outbreak; Reese Witherspoon and Paul Walker in Pleasantville.

Articles in this issue

Archives of this issue

view archives of Local 706 - The Artisan - Fall 2018